CPD 23 Thing 12: Putting the social into social media

I’m still getting to grips with using social media for work-related purposes.  I’m very aware, for example, that I still need a picture and a profile on Twitter.  After an inital flurry of positive feeling towards Twitter, I’m finding I don’t use it that often and checking my feed is starting to seem like a bit of a chore.  I’ve resolved to try and tidy up my account, so I am only seeing tweets that I am actually interested in, but the feeling of information overload is pressing upon me heavily (hindered no doubt by my desire not to miss out on anything !).

While I like the idea of using social media to communicate with people around the world, in reality I would say that I only seem use social media to get in touch with people I have actually met.  I do enjoy reading a variety of blog posts and finding out what people are doing, and have done for some time.  Before starting this process I would never have thought to comment on any blogs that I read.  Now I have my own blog I can see that it’s a nice way of communicating with people who share your interests, and I’ve made more of an effort to post comments where I feel I have something to add.

Leave a Reply

