CPD 23 Thing 13: Google Docs, Wikis and Dropbox

I found online collaboration really useful when I was studying for my MA.  I was studying part-time and travelling long distances to university and there was a lot of group work involved in the course, which was a bit of a nightmare for me.  Luckily my fellow students were understanding and one of the solutions to overcome the issue of distance was online collaborative tools.  I believe we used a tool called Pirate Pad.  I don’t know much about it, but it worked well for us and allowed us to communicate and simultaneously work on a presentation.

I would use similar tools in the future, and would be happy to give Google Docs a try, but at the moment it’s not something I need. 

I’ve used wikis at a previous place of work and found them really useful for sharing knowledge. It was great to have one place to go to when you need clarification or information. In an organisation where you need to share information I think having a wiki is a great idea, especially when working in a large team.

I haven’t set up a Dropbox account.  At the moment, I would only be using it to store my own documents, and I’m living in hope that I can master Evernote.  I do know an FE tutor who uses Dropbox as a tool to help students share their assignments and receive feedback on their work, so it could have potential for use in my sector.

Leave a Reply

