CPD 23 Thing 15: Attending, presenting at and organising seminars, conferences and other events

I love attending events.  It’s fun to meet new people and to have some time away from the day to day issues.  I usually find myself coming away from events feeling energised and inspired.

My current employer is very supportive of staff development and attending training events but I have found that geography, cost and convenience can play a part in dictating what events I have been able to attend.  We are so busy in September with inductions, for example, that there would be no way that I would be able to take time out of work to attend a conference.

I have never presented at or organised a conference and both these things seem quite daunting.  I attended a Library Camp in Leeds this year and I think this would be a good starting point for gaining experience in presenting your ideas to your contemporaries.

Leave a Reply

