CPD 23 Thing 23: What next?

Wow – I can’t believe the end is here and, more to the point, I can’t believe I made it!  I’ve enjoyed the programme but have found sticking to the posts in a timely manner to be a real challenge.

6 Word Story

Coming up with a six word story to describe my CPD 23 journey might actually have been the most difficult part of the whole process for me – I’m not very good at being succinct!  Here it is:

Hurried ramblings culminating in feeling achievement.

Reflection on the programme

In tackling CPD 23, I’ve looked at things that were completely new to me and gained experience of working with tools that I’d dabbled with in the past.  I’ve experimented with things that I will probably never use again, but I’ve also discovered tools that I already feel will become part of my everyday life, both at home and at work.  I’m still not keen on the process of reflecting, but I’ve tried to stick with it.

Gaps in my experience

I decided to use this task as an opportunity to engage with CILIP’s Professional Knowledge and Skills Base, as I’ve not had a proper look at it yet.

The following information is an extract from the CILIP webpage with my own annotations to highlight areas I want to explore:

What is covered by the Professional Knowledge and Skills Base?

The following provides you with brief descriptions of the areas covered by the professional expertise and generic skills sections of the Professional Knowledge and Skills Base (PKSB).

Professional Expertise

  • Organising Knowledge and Information
    Organising all types of knowledge, information and other resources including the development and use of tools, strategies and protocols, and enabling these resources to be organised, searched and retrieved effectively. Includes cataloguing and classification, metadata and thesauri, subject indexing and database design.
  • Knowledge and Information Management
    Collecting, organising, storing and exploiting information, data, expertise and other knowledge assets which are held within an organisation, ensuring that these assets remain available for future use. Includes capturing and recording knowledge and data, reflecting on results and sharing knowledge, skills and outcomes for the benefit of others.
  • Using and Exploiting Knowledge and Information
    Combining information skills, information content and knowledge to meet the needs of the user community, for example researchers, academics, communities, individuals, businesses or government. Includes providing enquiry and search services, research, data mining, bibliometrics, abstracting and promoting collections. 
  • Research skills
    Using research techniques and knowledge of information resources to support organisational, client or personal research projects to provide new findings and data. Includes knowledge of research methods, literature searching, citations, statistics and statistical analysis and report writing.
  • Information Governance and Compliance
    Developing and adhering to policies and regulations regarding processes and procedures for information use, while retaining an appropriate balance between information availability and information security. Includes knowledge of information law, copyright, intellectual property and licensing as well as issues relating to information risk management, information ownership and accountability. (Something I don’t really have a passion for so haven’t spent much time working on this area meaning it is definitely a section I need to develop my skills in.) 
  • Records Management and Archiving
    Recording, organising and preserving information records held in a range of formats in an organisation, and continuing to evaluate them for retention or disposal based on their format, relevance, usage and legal requirements. Includes storage and retrieval of records and collections, digitisation, curation and preservation.
  • Collection Management and Development
    The process of planning, delivering, maintaining and evaluating a programme of stock acquisition and management which meets current objectives and builds a coherent and reliable collection to allow for future development of the service. Includes collection management, resource selection and acquisition and planning for continued future use.
  • Literacies and Learning
    Supporting users and teaching them how to work independently. Incorporates information literacy, reading literacy, digital literacy and learning and teaching skills, and includes reader development and training users. (I want to look at different ways of engaging students and helping them to connect with the resourcs we provide.)

 

Generic Skills

  • Leadership and Advocacy
    Provide active leadership by inspiring and managing themselves and teams, both inside and outside the organisation and by promoting the positive value of library, information and knowledge services across the organisation and society. Includes leading and inspiring teams, influencing key stakeholders and understanding external frameworks.
  • Strategy, Planning and Management
    Setting long-term goals and objectives, and managing their planning and delivery within financial and legal constraints, while ensuring that strategies and priorities are in line with and support business objectives. Includes knowledge of business, operational and financial planning and management.
  • Customer Focus, Service Design and Marketing
    Understanding user needs, shaping library, information and knowledge services to meet those needs and using appropriate methods to inform customers of accessibility, value and benefit of the resources and services. Includes knowing the customer, identifying and communicating with stakeholders, designing and promoting services and evaluating the outcomes. (I want to think about customer care strategies in the coming months.)
  • IT and Communication
    Using a range of electronic information resources and systems, including databases catalogues, Web resources and software. Includes new internet applications and social media tools and providing user-friendly electronic resources and tools. Communication skills include oral, writing and presentation skills, networking and relationship building and working effectively with individuals and groups.

My first thoughts when looking at the PKSB are along the lines of “well that’s going to keep me busy for a while”.  I’ve been in a new post for 6 months, so there are roles and responsibilities covered here that are new to me in terms of my job description.  There are also skills that I have developed in previous posts that I no longer use on a regular basis in my current role (for example archiving), but I don’t want to let these things fall by the wayside.  There are elements of the PKSB that I really enjoy and others that I find challenging.  We have Personal Development Plans at work, so I will be using the PKSB in more detail when I come to look at my PDP in my appraisal later in the academic year.  I have highlighted and annotated some of the areas that are jumping out to me as areas of interest or areas that I feel I need to pay attention to.

Finally, I’ve read Mining Librarian’s post for Thing 23 and I really like her idea of setting a personal plan and I’m going to pinch that idea!  One of the by products of doing CPD 23 has been to make me thing about where work finishes and my personal interests and time start.  With regards to this blog, I intend to continue to use it to record conferences I have attended, ideas I am exploring and any other library-related musings that I wish to keep.

One thought on “CPD 23 Thing 23: What next?

  1. Pingback: Copyright links | Bound to Unravel

Leave a Reply

